Skip to main content

Joerg Egli

Carving Coach

Snowboarding since 1987
Ski-Windsurf- und Snowboardinstructor
Coaching since 1988
CEO of Pure Boarding

 

Gliding on snow and water, the joy of movement has accompanied me all my life. As the son of a sports retailer, I was born with a thirst for movement.

Even at the tender age of three, there was no stopping me on skis. From then on, skiing dominated my life: After a fairly successful - but marked by many injuries - racing career, I worked as a ski instructor for a few seasons - and as a windsurfing instructor in the summer. Windsurfing changed my life: surfing instead of skiing became my new life motto. The skis were hung on the famous nail - and replaced by surfing on the snow, the then newly invented snowboarding.

I was one of the lucky snowboarders of the first hour, founder of one of the first snowboard schools in Europe, the Snowboard School Fischenthal, and CEO of Pure Boarding.

For 35 years now, snowboarding has been my passion, my great passion. I love it again and again to stand on the board early in the morning and to make beautiful carves in the snow - but also to pass this great sport on to the people.

So snowboarding has influenced my life, brought me together with like-minded people (almost) all over the world - and that's not all: At the not so tender age of almost 60 I started to live another dream, surfing. So the Pure Boarding motto 'Surf the snow' has been more than just an advertising slogan all these years - and would probably soon have to be replaced by the motto 'Surf it! The main thing is that I can still stand on the board for as long as possible - regardless of whether it's a snowboard or a surfboard: Keep on carving?

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Joerg Egli

Carving Coach

Snowboarding since 1987
Ski-Windsurf- und Snowboardinstruktor
Coaching since 1988
CEO of Pure Boarding

Das Gleiten auf Schnee und Wasser, die Freude an Bewegung hat mich ein Leben lang begleitet. Als Sohn eines Sportfachhändlers wurde mir der Bewegungsdrang wohl in die Wiege gelegt.

Schon im zarten Alter von drei Jahren gab es auf den Skiern kein Halten mehr. Ab dann dominierte der Skisport mein Leben: Nach einer ziemlich erfolgreichen - aber durch viele Verletzungen geprägten - Rennkarriere  arbeitete ich einige Saisons als Skilehrer - und im Sommer als Windsurflehrer. Das Windsurfen veränderte mein Leben: Surfen statt Skilaufen wurde zu meinem neuen Lebensmotto. Die Skis wurden an den berühmten Nagel gehängt - und durch das Surfen auf dem Schnee ersetzt, das damals neu erfundene Snowboarden.

Ich war einer der glücklichen Snowboarder der ersten Stunde, Gründer einer der ersten Snowboardschulen in Europa, der Snowboardschule Fischenthal, und CEO von Pure Boarding.

Seit nun 35 Jahren ist das Snowboarden meine Passion, meine grosse Leidenschaft. Ich liebe es immer wieder von Neuem, frühmorgens auf dem Board zu stehen und schöne Carves in den Schnee zu ziehen - aber auch den Leuten diesen toll Sport weiterzugeben.

Das Snowboarden hat also mein Leben beeinflusst, hat mich mit Gleichgesinnten (fast) auf der ganzen Welt zusammengebracht - und damit nicht genug: Im nicht mehr ganz so zarten Alter von fast 60 Jahren habe ich begonnen, einen weiteren Traum zu leben, das Wellenreiten. Der Pure Boarding- Leitsatz ‚Surf the snow‘ war also all die Jahre mehr als nur ein Werbespruch - und müsste wohl bald durch das Motto ‚Surf it!‘ ersetzt werden. Hauptsache, ich darf noch möglichst lange auf dem Board stehen - egal ob Snow- oder Surfboard: Keep on carving?